Fitness Trackers, Are They Worth It? Absolutely!

hiking-eaton-canyon-pi-na-flickr

Fitness trackers have come a long way from the days of the simple pedometers that we used to get so frustrated with due to the inaccuracy and constant resetting. Now they do everything from tracking your steps, sleep habits, heart rate, calories, stairs, just about every movement you make! It’s amazing technology and so valuable to keep you accountable and motivated in your quest towards a healthier lifestyle. It also helps track your progress and shows you when and where you might need improvement. Maybe, there is a certain time in the day where you are hitting a slump and this tracker will show you.

Many of my clients have aspired to walk 10,000 steps a day. Although they are finding that this goal is more challenging than they first anticipated. This is how I manag it in my busy schedule and I thought I would share it with you. I break it down hourly like this by 8am I make sure to get to 1000 steps, 9am 2000 steps, 10am 3000 steps until I reach my goal. This way I am not looking at my tracker at 2pm and seeing that I only have logged in 2000 steps for the day so far and start running around like Road Runner. This method has worked well for me and I hope it helps you too!

Stay Strong!

Leave a Reply

